Showing posts with label InDesign. Show all posts
Showing posts with label InDesign. Show all posts

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Hyperlink to Text Anchors Within Your Document

Big ups to Darcy for asking this question: "My project has a list of the the contents on the bottom. Is there anyway that I can click on a word, say 'resume' and it will jump down to the resume within the document?"

What you'll do is create a hyperlink to an anchor, the anchor being the destination. It's a two step process:

First, open the Hyperlink panel. Then:

1. Create the Text Anchor:
Select the text that will be your anchor
Go to the Hyperlinks panel and pull down the options menu.
Choose New Hyperlink Destination > Text Anchor

2. Create the Hyperlink:
Select the text or graphic that will be hyperlinked
Go to the Hyperlinks panel and pull down the options menu.
Choose New Hyperlink > Link to Text Anchor
Specify Destination, Style and Appearance

I figured this out using Adobe CS4 so the exact menu wording may differ a little from CS5 that we have in lab. For further clarification, dig into the online help for Interactive Documents for CS5.5  at

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/indesign/cs/using/WSFE8A2A9F-6111-416c-85D7-6C51F202E8ED.html

and read the section on Hyperlinks.

PASS IT ON!

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

PDF Interactivity Options and Media Conversion

 Place audio and video files like any graphic or text file (File > Place). Then customize with the Media panel (Window > Interactive > Media). 

The "Poster" is the image that is displayed in your document.

InDesign: Poster Options
InDesign: Controller Options

InDesign: Video PDF Options

Media Conversion

Incompatible file formats (such as AVI or WAV) won't embed in the PDF and be interactive. Use Adobe MediaEncoder (in the Applications folder) to convert them to compatible formats (such as Fv4). Drag and drop files into the window and follow the on-screen prompts.

Adobe MediaEncoder Queue
Adobe MediaEncoder File Conversion

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Make a Table in InDesign (Without Hammer or Saw)

A table consists of rows and columns of cells. A cell is like a text frame in which you can add text, inline graphics, or other tables. You can create tables from scratch or by converting them from existing text, or export them from other applications. You can also embed a table within a table.

When you create a table, the new table fills the width of the container text frame. A table is inserted on the same line when the insertion point is at the beginning of the line, or on the next line, when the insertion point is in the middle of a line.

Tables flow with surrounding text just as inline graphics do. For example, a table moves through threaded frames when the text above it changes in point size or when text is added or deleted. However, a table cannot appear on a text-on-path frame.

Below are some important features to get you started. For a video tutorial on creating and formatting tables, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0081.

Create a table from scratch

The table you create fills the width of the text frame.
  1. Using the Type tool , place the insertion point where you want the table to appear.
  2. Choose Table > Insert Table.
  3. Specify the numbers of rows and columns.
  4. If your table contents will continue on more than one column or frame, specify the number of header or footer rows in which you want the information to be repeated.
  5. (Optional) Specify a table style.
  6. Click OK.
The row height of a table is determined by the specified table style. For example, a table style may use cell styles to format different parts of the table. If any of these cell styles include paragraph styles, the leading value of the paragraph styles determines the row height of that area. If no paragraph style is used, the document’s default slug determines the row height. (The slug is based on the leading value. In this context, a slug is the approximate height of the highlighting in selected text.)

Create a table from existing text

Before you convert text to a table, make sure that you set up the text properly.
  1. To prepare the text for conversion, insert tabs, commas, paragraph returns, or another character to separate columns. Insert tabs, commas, paragraph returns, or another character to separate rows. (In many instances, text can be converted to a table without having to be edited.)
  2. Using the Type tool , select the text you want to convert to a table.
  3. Choose Table > Convert Text To Table.
  4. For both Column Separator and Row Separator, indicate where new rows and columns should begin. Choose Tab, Comma, or Paragraph, or type the character, such as a semicolon (;), in the Column Separator and Row Separator field. (Any character you type appears in the menu the next time you create a table from text.)
  5. If you specify the same separator for columns and rows, indicate the number of columns you want the table to include.
  6. (Optional) Specify a table style to format the table.
  7. Click OK.
If any row has fewer items than the number of columns in a table, empty cells fill out the row.

Selecting Table Cells, Rows and Columns

When you select part or all of the text in a cell, that selection has the same appearance as would text selected outside a table. However, if the selection spans more than one cell, the cells and their contents are both selected.

If a table spans more than one frame, holding the mouse pointer over any header or footer row that is not the first header or footer row causes a lock icon to appear, indicating that you cannot select text or cells in that row. To select cells in a header or footer row, go to the beginning of the table.

Select cells

 Using the Type tool , do any of the following:
  • To select a single cell, click inside a table, or select text, and then choose Table > Select > Cell.
  • To select multiple cells, drag across a cell border. Be careful not to drag the column or row line so that you don’t resize the table.
To switch between selecting all of the text in a cell and selecting the cell, press Esc.

Select entire columns or rows

 Using the Type tool , do any of the following:
  • Click inside a table, or select text, and then choose Table > Select > Column or Row.
  • Move the pointer over the top edge of a column or the left edge of a row so that the pointer becomes an arrow shape ( or ), and then click to select the entire column or row.

Before and after selecting Row

Select all header, body, or footer rows

  1. Click inside a table, or select text.
  2. Choose Table > Select > Header Rows, Body Rows, or Footer Rows.

Select the entire table

 Using the Type tool , do any of the following:
  • Click inside a table, or select text, and then choose Table > Select > Table.
  • Move the pointer over the upper left corner of the table so that the pointer becomes an arrow shape , and then click to select the entire table.

    Before and after selecting table
  • Drag the Type tool across the entire table.
You can also select a table in the same way you select an anchored graphic—place the insertion point immediately before or after a table, and then hold down Shift while pressing the Right Arrow key or Left Arrow key, respectively, to select the table. 

Formatting Tables

Use the Control panel or Character panel to format text within a table—just like formatting text outside a table. In addition, two main dialog boxes help you format the table itself: Table Options and Cell Options. Use these dialog boxes to change the number of rows and columns, to change the appearance of the table border and fill, to determine the spacing above and below the table, to edit header and footer rows, and to add other table formatting.

Use the Table panel, the Control panel, or the context menu to format the table structure. Select one or more cells and then right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac OS) to display a context menu with table options.

For a video tutorial on creating and formatting tables, see www.adobe.com/go/vid0081.


Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Type on a path


Type can also be set along a vector path – be it a curvy path or a polygon, or open or closed path. Draw a path, then click and hold on the Text Tool to get more options. Select the T that's kicked over on its side (Text on Path Tool).


Click on the path with that tool, and type in your text. The text follows the path! What excitement!

To move the type around on the path, click on it with the Selection Tool. Notice the "I-Beam" at the origin point of the text (if the text is set centered, it's in the center of the text; if set justified left or right, it will be at the left or right of the text). Click on the I-Beam with the Selection Tool and drag it to where you want it. If you drag it to the opposite side of the path, it will flip upsidedown.

Align type centered or on the left or right margin using the paragraph palette or control panel.

Tip: If you align the "I-Beam" with the center handle of the bounding box and align text centered using the paragraph palette, your text will center automatically and perfectly.

Tip: Adobe InDesign and Illustrator both allow you to create type on a path, however they behave a little differently. InDesign allows you to put type and a stroke on a single path; Illustrator allows you to put either type or a stroke on a single path (it will not allow both).

Tip: If you want type to stretch over and under an object (such as in the example below) you need to create two separate paths with text on each of them:

Monday, February 27, 2012

Spellchecking and Proofreading

Your words ­ and their spelling, punctuation and grammar ­ are as important to a layout as the design itself. Why even bother if you can't communicate your message?

Our computer software has built-in dictionaries and dynamic spelling features to help us with spelling which you'll learn to use, however spelling checkers won't correct homonyms, grammar or punctuation. For instance,

they're their there

are all spelled correctly, but their meanings and usage are different.

Develop an eye for typographical errors. Here are some of my proofreading tips:
  • Look at each word carefully
  • Assume words are spelled incorrectly
  • Read text aloud
  • Read text backwards, word by word

InDesign's Spelling Checker

In InDesign, you can check a story, the entire document or all open documents. With your document open, go to Edit > Spelling > Check spelling and follow prompts to find and replace spelling errors. If you want to see spelling errors as you type (such as are in many email programs), to to Edit > Spelling > Dynamic spelling. Incorrectly spelled words will be highlighted with red underlining, kin.



No, there is no extra credit for finding typographical errors on this site. But thanks anyway.

Find/Change (Find and Replace)

A very useful tool is the Find/Change function in InDesign. Go to Edit > Find/Change and type or copy and paste characters into the "Find what" and "Change to" boxes. Many search and formatting functions are available -- not only can you change text, but you can change type styles, Character or Paragraph Styles, special characters and more.

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Converting color art to grayscale

Color images often need to be converted to grayscale. Here's how.

Bitmapped (Raster) Images

You may have downloaded an image similar to this:


1. Launch Photoshop and open the file. You can also click and drag the file from your desktop to the Photoshop icon in the Dock and release the mouse button once the Photoshop icon is highlighted.

2. Go to Image Menu>Mode>Grayscale. Click OK when asked to discard color information.


3. If the image looks flat (lacks contrast) and needs adjusting, try Image>Adjustments>Brightness and Contrast. This image needed the contrast adjusted (more contrast).




4. SAVE the new EPS or TIFF file. "Save As" to the Documents folder. Format should be either EPS or TIFF.

Note that the file extension will automatically change to ".eps" or ".tif" Don't change the file extension yourself -- let Photoshop do it.



Be sure to give the new file a new name so as to not replace the original (so you will have both a color and grayscale version of your file).

Illustrator (vector) images

If you have an "eps" vector image such as this:



1. Launch Illustrator and open the file.

2. Select the object (in this case Select All).

3. Go to Edit menu>Edit Colors>Convert to Grayscale.

4. "Save as" with ".eps" or ".ai" format and new name to not replace the original (so you will have both a color and grayscale version of your file):



After you're all done converting and saving, PLACE it in your InDesign layout.